No comments yet

Annual Indigenous Heritage Games opens tomorrow – six teams defending titles…

Port Kaituma and Paruima male and female football teams, Mahdia and St. Cuthbert’s male and female cricket teams, Moruca and Waramuri male and female volleyball teams will be defending their titles when the 2018 Indigenous games kick of this week end at the Everest Cricket Club Ground.

Images from the 2017 competition.

Some 17 football teams, 18 cricket teams, volleyball teams and individual champs in Swimming and Archery were drawn from the ten administrative regions.

Port Kaituma Male Football out of Region 1 will be defending the male football title after trouncing eight opponents to clinch the coveted title.

They will be looking repeat last year’s dominance against the likes of Moruca Football Club, Region 2 United, Region 4 United, Sipaurta out of Region 6, Waramadong and Pariuma out of Region 7, Region 8 United, Piowomak out of the North Rupununi, Region 9 and Guyana Rush Sainta  Football Club and Tabaciga out of Central Rupununi, Region 9.

Fierce competition is expected as teams will be looking to claim victory, while defending champs Port Kaituma will be looking to make it two in a row.

In female football action, Paruima Football Club out of the Upper Mazaruni remains a dominant force as they are keenly eying the lean trophy after winning this category for two consecutive years.

Teams that will be looking to deny them the coveted prize are St. Cuthbert’s out of Region 4, Sipaurta out of Region 6, Kamarang out of Region 7, Region 8 United and Gladiator out of Central Rupununi Region 9.

Turning our attention to cricket action, Mahdia will be defending the male cricket title after putting on an impressive all-round performance last year. Can they repeat this performance at this year’s competition? Captain of the defending champs said “we been practicing for a while now and we will take the trophy home”.

Port Kaituma out of Region 1, Region # 2 United, Santa Mission out of Region 3, St. Cuthbert’s Mission and Laluni out of Region 4, Moraikobai out of Region 5, Orealla out of Region 6, Campbelltown out of Region 8 and Sand Hill out of Region  10.

Meanwhile, rivals for the women competition are Region 2 United, Santa Mission –Reg 3, Swan Region 4, Moraikobai Region 5, Orealla – Region 6, Batavia-Region 7, Hururu- Region 10 and defending champions St. Cuthberts out of Region 4.

More than $1.5M dollars in case and trophies will be up for grabs with winners in the male and female football competitions carting off three hundred thousand dollars and a trophy each, runners up two hundred dollars and a trophy each, while the winners of both male and female cricket competitions will cart off one hundred and fifty thousand dollars and a trophy each.

Second place finishers will pocket one hundred thousand dollars and a trophy each.

The first day of action kicks off on Friday (September 21) at 10:00hrs at the Everest Cricket Club Ground with the march past followed by preliminary matches in football and cricket.

Swimming will be held at the National Aquatic Center, Liliendaal, while Archery and Volleyball will be staged at the Everest Cricket Club Ground on Saturday.

Finals for the various disciplines will be held on Sunday.

Fees to enter on Friday and Saturday is three hundred dollars and on Sunday five hundred dollars with children under twelve years old free.

Post a comment